Tomorrow!!

6 Apr

Good evening everyone! 

How has your Easter weekend been so far?? I had a good night out with my friends on Thursday and a lovely day with my Japanese friend today.

We talked about what we can and can not say in English.

It’s actually a kind of funny topic. For example, people say “Cheers” all the time. Our question was whether it sounds a bit weird or unnatural for us to say that.

We are not native English speakers and you can tell straight away from our accent and appearance. We are still learning English everyday and we pick up a lot of vocabularies and expressions from our everyday life.

Something like “cheers, mate” is always there. You hear it all the time.  You pick it up and then want to use it. Copying native speakers is always a great way to master another language, definitely. But me saying “cheers mate” is a bit too much, I think.  I mean I wouldn’t actually say that. No. But maybe “cheers” is fine. The thing is that it is impossible for us to tell if that sounds okay or not. My husband is a native English speaker and he told us that it is not weird at all for us to say “cheers” but it might sound like we are trying too hard if we said “innit”. It’s only his opinion and it really depends who says it, how you says it or when you says it.

It is just one silly example but what I want to say is that there is no definite rules or text books to tell us “you can say “cheers” but maybe you don’t want to say “innit” with Japanese accent”.

Am I explaining it well? Hope you know what I am trying to say. It is always a big topic for me to understand that kind of thing and I am sure if you are living in a country where people speak a different language to your mother tongue. You want to speak their language better just in order to communicate but at the same time you don’t want to sound too unnatural. Or is it only me?!

 

Anyway, enough of my silly English issue.

Right. Tomorrow is the day!! We are having a stall at Capel Manor Gardens tomorrow. From 11 am to 16pm. The prices for all the products are lower than eBay!! Yay!!

It is an Easter Egg Hunt event. Please come along and have a look at our lovely stuff!!!

Really looking forward to seeing you!!

 

Good night and Happy Easter everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

