Hana and Alice

23 Apr

Let’s talk about Japanese films today!

Do you like films? I love films.

How much? Hmm, I might be able to live without music if I had to but not films.

I watch both Japanese and non-Japanese films but I am going to write about Japanese films here. I am sure you don’t need me to tell you what American films are good, right?

I know it’s me who chose this topic but it is a very  tough one. The most difficult question that someone could possibly ask me is “what’s your favourite film?”. You know what I mean? I can not choose one!!

However there are a lot of films which don’t seem that many people know about and I want to introduce them here.

I picked up one of my favourite films today.

Hana and Alice

(Wikipedia, IMDb)

I don’t think this is well known film in this country and I personally think this film has been underrated.

I love looking around in Fopp (DVD/CD shop) in Covent Garden. They have lots of good but minor foreign films with good deals. I don’t think they even have copies of the film. In fact I have never seen a copy of this in any shops in London. You can buy it online though.

Anyway the film is beautiful visually and emotionally. It is a cute teenage girl’s film but not only cute but also little bitter in a way.

The director is Shunji Iwai, from  “All about Lily Chou-chou”. I think he is a master of colours on a screen. I can’t describe it well (even in Japanese) but the colour and atmosphere are just very beautiful and makes you a little bit sad. In this way Hana and Alice is a bit similar to “The Virgin Suicides“.

I love this film too!!

Some might say it’s a bit slow film but it can be funny sometime. Maybe a bit surreal which I always like!

I don’t know if this film is one of the films that only Japanese people find good or it’s just because not a single company tried to promote this film in this country. I love this film so much I have a copy of it. I know it doesn’t mean much here but in Japan DVDs are very expensive. I must have paid more than £35 for this!!!

This is my copy. The left one is All about Lily Chou-Chou. Was only £5 here in London.

I would really love to hear your opinion if you have ever watched it!

4 Responses to “Hana and Alice”

  1. Justin M. Smith 23/04/2012 at 8:52 pm #

    I’ve never seen it, but I will be sure to check it out and let you know how I enjoyed it!

    • mocomoco_tokyo 23/04/2012 at 9:01 pm #

      Hi Justin,
      Thanks for your comment! Yes please let me know! I am keen to know how you will find it 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I have confessions to “watch” (not to make). « mocomoco tokyo - 04/05/2012

    […] written about one of my most favourite Japanese films before. Today, it’s a second film to write […]

  2. I have confessions to “watch” (not to make) « mocomoco tokyo - 04/05/2012

    […] written about one of my most favourite Japanese films before. Today, it’s a second film to write […]

Leave a Reply

